Joseph B.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/11/20
Dr Julie is the best…

Tanya M.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/10/20
Awesome, attentive, patient focused care!

John C.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/07/20
I am very pleased in how thing are going. I have diabetic neuropathy and it was all over my body. I was skeptical about about if there was any way of reversing because my Dr at my health clinic said there wasn’t but I had it in the back of my mind there had to be so I looked up other means of help rather then your usual run of the mill drug for nerve pain so I did alittle research and there was. I ran across chiropractic work and found out there was chiropractic practices in my area so so I did more research on those places and it was Optima Health and Vitality that I choose because I like their holistic way of taking care of it so I booked an appt. When i went in for my first consultation i had to fill out a health checklist so the Dr knew what he was up against handed it and the receptionist assigned me Dr Martens he came out and introduced himself to me and took me to his room for evaluation and started his procedures to give me the right kind of treatment and I was satisfied and after my first visit there everything has turned out great because Dr Martens did the right adjustments to help me for my neuropathy. Been going there for over 6 months now and my neuropathy has come along great starting to get feelings back again all over again not only from the help of Dr Martens but also the help of his 2 assistants Peg And Rosie for their Involvement of additional help so Dr Martens can move on to his next client. So since my first visit i am very well satisfied for what they are doing would recommend this place for any one…

Cindy S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 05/13/20
Dr. Bircher takes the time to answer all your questions, whether in the room or after the visit, depending on the question. VERY thorough at every appointment I have with him!!

Suzanne L.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 05/07/20
I really appreciate that Dr Bauer takes the time to explain everything and gives hope for help

Evie W.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 04/18/20
Dr. Julie is remarkable both in her professionalism and competence. She was also extremely friendly and helped us feel very comfortable, explaining all the techniques she was using. She can be as firm or as gentle as a patient’s needs dictate. She definitely gets a 5-star rating from us. Office staff (especially Peggy) are also exceptionally professional and caring. Plus everyone is fun! We feel fortunate to have found Optima Health. We’ll be their patients for life. Would highly recommend to anyone. Thank you for all that you do.

Britany K.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 03/18/20
Dr Martens was thorough, informative and friendly. It is evident that he genuinely cares. The girls at the front desk are friendly, supportive and helpful!

Jill J.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 03/13/20
Great experience with Amy!

John R.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/28/20
Top notch care. Professional, knowledgeable, friendly, highly effective.

Mark M.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/12/20
Picked up some vitamins , the front desk ladies got them put together right away and were very friendly and helpful

Vicki F.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 12/06/19
Dr. Julie is very thorough. The whole staff is wonderful!

Chris A.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 11/11/19
Dr Julie is so good at her job and she is a very caring person

Sheree R.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 10/15/19
I chose to come to Optima Health and Vitality Center because I was referred by an Amish friend. I suffer from hypothyroidism and had 3 nodules on my thyroid. My numbers were neutral in the autumn of 2006 and fell by late 2010. I saw an endocrine doctor and was put on Levothyroxine after cancer was ruled out. I couldn’t do much physically due to chronic pain and fatigue. And then I began gaining weight, even while dieting! I felt depressed due to these changes over which I seemed to have no control. At Optima Health & Vitality Center Dr. Martens did lab work – not just blood, but saliva, bowel and blood. Dr. Martens said I was low in Vitamin D and was anemic. He put me on supplements for these and began a therapy to heal me – – to cause my liver to turn the T4 to T3 (the cause of my pain), to cause my digestion to heal (for constipation) and to cause the thyroid to begin to work. I also needed to control my stress better. My physical pains left within a couple of weeks, and close to 4-5 months from the start of the treatments, my thyroid slowly came around, and the nodules went away that were on my thyroid gland. I’m feeling much, much better. I do have Hashimotos Thyroid, and so my condition may never actually be cured. However, with a good, clean diet, exercise and stress control, I’m feeling well again. I don’t like to take pills, but if supplements are needed to be taken, that’s different. Supplements are supportive to restore health. They’re not a bandaid. Dr. Martens worked to learn the underlying cause of my hypothyroidism and then used supplements to restore my thyroid functions. I felt comfortable with his approach to treatment. I did not want to take Levothyroxine for the rest of my life and have to take a pain killer on top of that, something for my depression and God knows what else!

Rachel R.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 09/26/19
Julie is so confident in her environment, quick to assess and apply the right treatment. I’m always satisfied and glad I come to Dr Julie.

Nicole W.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/29/19
I love Julie. She makes you feel comfortable listens to your concerns. I would recommend her to anyone!

Carol H.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/28/19
Dr Bircher Is really helping me. My bone on bone is not sore any more.

Vicki J.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/21/19
Dr. Martin’s is always very professional and he honestly cares about my health and wellness.

Amanda W.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/21/19
They were all very kind and caring.

Linda J.
4/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/07/19
It was confusing, as I had not seen her before. It got straightened out, she’s very friendly and kind.

Dale M.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/01/19
Totally an interesting experience receiving a series of injections in my back. Having dealt with back issues for many years, there appears to have been some relief. I am very appreciative to Deb and the service provided.

Lisa D.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 06/03/19
Dr. Julie was very compassionate and attentive to my needs. Most of all she really listened and showed that she actually cared. Great place to go for health care.

Daniel J.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 05/22/19
Very Professional, know her stuff

Laurie S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 04/30/19
Dr. Julie always keeps me in stay at work fit. From the right adjustments and therapies to the best for me supplements !!

Hollie B.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 04/09/19
Dr. Martens is an incredible chiropractor and very knowledgeable. He takes his time every visit and addresses your specific concerns. I have chronic pain and chronic health issues and my quality of life has definitely improved since getting regular adjustments with Dr. Martens.

Patty B.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 04/07/19
I have had great experiences here and has helped me so much!

Carling M.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 04/07/19
Doctor Julie is great at helping my body get in balance. I feel great after visits!

Deborah C.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 03/14/19
Dr. Julie is wonderful. She always greats me with a smile, she cares about my well being and she takes the time to go above and beyond!

Lynn A.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 03/13/19
Dr. Martens spent a lot of time, and really listened to what I had to say.

Mary Jo H.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/19/19
Dr. Julie rocks!!! She always does a thorough job and I feel amazing when I leave. I cannot say anything negative about my appointments. I love the office staff as well. Fun people:) Don’t change anything…

RHONDA P.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/13/19
Very thorough, gets to the spot that is causing the issue. Best there is.

Angela S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 12/11/18
Dr.Martens is doing a great job helping me recover from Lyme. He is knowledgeable and keeps me on track to wellness.

David S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 12/06/18
I am very pleased and the next day I was able to go on a 12 day trip without much pain and no lack of mobility.

Victoria F.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 12/03/18
He works a sore area until it there is a good response.

Vicki F.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 12/02/18
Dr. Julie is very knowledgeable in her field. Always a detailed chiropractic exam! Thank you for all you do!

Bethany G.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 12/02/18
I love Optima. They have become like a second family. Always great care!

Linda M.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 11/14/18
I always feel better after an appointment with Dr. Bauer. He always explains what he is doing and is respectful of my decisions about my health. Besides that, I just enjoy talking with him. I have visited other Chiropractors and will stay with Dr. Bauer as long as he continues to practice chiropractic medicine.

Anna D.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 09/21/18
Dr. Bircher and staff are great! I appreciated their knowledge and help with any health concerns I have. I would highly recommend seeing anyone of their top notch doctors!

Jean S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 09/12/18
Dr Bircher gets 5 stars from me for every single visit over the last 28 years. He treats the whole body and I always come away feeling wonderful. I live 2 and a half hours away but he is THAT good! I am an active outdoor person, now retired Physical Education teacher. Medical doctors were not able to help me with my back pain but Dr. Bircher found the cause on the first visit and greatly reduced the pain and had me on the road of healing quickly. He is very gifted and keeps up on the latest medical data. I am so thankful for his help.

Mickey G.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 09/08/18
Dr Bircher is an excellent doctor. I’m always better when I leave. I like that the adjustment are gentle and I can resume my activities without pain.

Anonymous A.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/20/18
After doing months of PT and seeing little to no results, my insurance stopped paying for therapy. I went to Dr Julie and after a series of chiropractic adjustments and exercise rehabilitation I feel better than I did before my injury. The staff is extremely friendly, they make you feel more like family. I would recommend this clinic to anyone looking for high quality care!

Brett M.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/20/18
Had a great experience!

Mickey F.
4/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/19/18
Dr. Bauer is without a doubt one of the best healers I have encountered. We have been on a tough journey to bring my health & well being back from a very low state, he has never wained and we have made significant progress. His wealth of knowledge is impressive, but his intuitive, kind and upbeat nature is an additional benefit to my healing process. Dr. Bauer is my primary provider but I have seen several others over the years and would highly recomend the care providers at Optima Health and Vitality. While I continue to see a regular MD when necessary, I have found after years of comparison I get the best advice and treatment at Optima.

Leah S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/16/18
Dr. Bauer and his staff have always been attentive, accommodating, and professional in their service and treatment of my needs and the special needs of my son. We receive the best care and are highly satisfied with Optima service.

Michelle S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/16/18
Amy is Amazing!!

Sheree R.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/16/18
My thyroid health hasn’t been good for several years. My endocrinologist suggested alternative medicine as he didn’t know what else to do. I’m just getting started with “Doc Martens” and am looking forward to getting to the cause of the thyroid failure. It’s possible that I may be able to get rid of the supplement and have a healthy, functioning thyroid in the near future.

Wayne .
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/16/18
I have been dealing with right leg and hip pain since accident in fall of 2017 . Dr. Julie has been very helpful throughout my recovery.

Anonymous A.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/16/18
Optima Health is amazing! From the first moment you walk in the door you’re greeted by friendly smiles. The entire staff goes above and beyond to make you feel comfortable and very helpful in answering questions. I was hesitant at first as I had never been to a chiro. But working a desk job my whole life I had chronic pain between my shoulder blades and forward head posture. He relieved me of my pain and has taught me at home exercises I can do to help prevent my problem. Wonderful experience every time, would recommend to a friend!

Stephanie F.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/15/18
Dr. Julie is great to work with she always listens to my concerns and I feel great after I leave. Friendly staff as well!

LeAnn H.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/14/18
Julie really listens to my concerns and genuinely cares!! Definitely feeling progress with my treatment and look forward to my visits! Thank you Julie and to all the staff at Optima. Exceptional service!!

Bethany I.
4/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/14/18
All of the doctors and staff are welcoming and friendly. They become you’re litte chiropractic family. At this time I see Dr. Martens as my main chiropractor. He is extremely knowledgeable and always goes the extra mile to make sure you leave feeling back to new . I often recommend Optima Health to people who’ve told me they’ve come to a roadblock with their health. With all of the alternative services available people often find a pathway to hope and healing after other avenues have not worked. You’ll leave feeling positive and rejuvenated. Keep up the good work guys!

Lydia K.
4/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/14/18
Dr.Martens has some great skills on health..I have great results from gall pain,,no surgery, feeling great..Neck an hip problems,so much better..I can trust him for my Dr. an also very friendly an caring..

David A.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/13/18
I am very well cared for at Optima

Mary D.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/12/18
I go to Dr. Bircher for all my health care needs. I trust him completely. He’s helped me with many problems over the years and is informed on the latest technologies and alternative solutions.

Rosaleen D.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/12/18
So glad we heard about you years ago. Don,t know what we would have done without your help over the years. Very caring and figures things out. Thank you

Hollie B.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/11/18
Dr. Martens is very skilled at what he does and very compassionate. My chronic pain has decreased so much since I started seeing him! Highly recommended.

Amy D.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/11/18
Dr. Martens is my Chiropractor at Optima and I can’t imagine finding anyone as fantastic as him. He’s a great listener and cares about my whole well being. He isn’t pushy regarding supplements. He gives you the information and offers his suggestions, but leaves it up to you. He and my Primary Doctor work well together to do what is best for me! All of the staff at Optima are professional, thoughtful, caring, and friendly people. I would & do reccomend Optima Health to many people!!!!

Stanley B.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/11/18
Dr Bircher has been able use his superior expertise and experience to eliminate many of my physical problems. Stan Bosker

Mary C.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/11/18
I went in for the adjustment and when I laid on my back I got dizzy, so he helped me sit up and he began working on pressure points to get relief, soon it was better. He recommended Phyto-Dren drops for adrenal gland support. Also had trouble in lower back, compressed disc and he was able to give me relief with that. Thank You.

Patient Testimonials


Fibromyalgia

I used to have a lot of pain from fibromyalgia along with a feeling of sluggishness, brain fog, and lack of energy. I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia in 1993. I was on medication for the fibromyalgia to improve sleep and for pain. I couldn’t do many normal activities due to lack of energy and the need for excessive sleep. I missed many family activities, sporting events children were in, just about everything. Slept my life away. I chose Optima Health & Vitality because I heard of good results from neighbors and I knew Julie Goplin. Julie had me do a six week elimination diet and we discovered I reacted to gluten. I have totally eliminated gluten from my diet. Immediate results. I still have fibromyalgia but I no longer have the intense pain. I also have more energy, no brain fog and I do not need to sleep more than seven hours a night. This has totally changed my life. I lost 25 pounds easily. Everyone at Optima Health & Vitality Center is caring and positive about your care. They are all professional and will go the extra mile for you – – – especially Dr. Goplin. I travel 25-30 miles to the clinic.

-Eileen J.


Stomach/Digestive Issues 

For many years I was very sick with digestive problems with other symptoms such as constant fatigue and migraines. I went from doctor to doctor and I never got a straight answer from any of them. Most of them said something along the lines of “you’re just stressed and anxious and you need to try less for good grades and learn better-coping techniques.” This was so frustrating to me because I wasn’t feeling sick from being stressed, I developed high anxiety and stress because of how terrible I felt on a daily basis. My illness began interfering with my everyday life. I was too sick to go on field trips, I had to quit sports, and I wouldn’t spend time with my friends. My life felt like it was spiraling out of control and I thought I’d never get an answer about what was wrong with me. This all changed once I came to Optima Health and Vitality Center. Unlike the previous doctors I had been to, as soon as I walked through the door, I felt comfortable and was treated very kindly. From the receptionists to the nurses to my doctor, everybody was so welcoming and friendly. After being asked about my symptoms they seemed confident right away that they could figure out what was wrong. This was such a relief after over a year of dead ends. They ordered some tests including a food allergy test. The results came back, and because my intestines were so damaged, my body was reacting badly to many foods, making me allergic to over 80 different foods. At first, this was discouraging because I thought I’d never figure out a good diet, and I wouldn’t be able to eat anything. Doctor Martens was very optimistic, however, and was confident that following a restrictive diet until my intestines healed would allow me to eat many of that food again. He was right, and with their help, I am healthier than ever and following a still somewhat restrictive diet but am able to introduce some of the foods I was originally allergic to back into my diet. I don’t struggle as much with fatigue anymore, and rarely have headaches and stomachaches. It’s amazing to have my quality of life restored. I am so thankful for Doctor Martens and everybody at Optima Health for giving me back my life and my happiness!

-HT


Chronic Pain

I had Lyme Disease for a very long time (about 10 years) and didn’t know it. What I did know is that something was making me feel like I had the flu every day. Do you remember a time when you had the flu? You had so much pain everywhere, even your hair hurt. The pounding headache that didn’t stop. You were so tired that you spent the day in bed, only a few short trips to the bathroom and to the kitchen and were so exhausted that you couldn’t wait to lie back down. You suffered for a few days and when you started to feel better you thought to yourself, “gee, I’m glad THAT only lasted a few days. “ But mine didn’t get better. And on the days I thought it couldn’t get any worse, it did. The list of miserable symptoms grew and grew and worsened in severity. Headaches, painful neuropathy in my feet, loud ringing in my ears, digestion problems and difficulty tolerating food, jaw problems and difficulty chewing, inability to concentrate (I used to love to read but couldn’t read more than 2 sentences at a time), depression, anxiety, panic attacks, hair dry and thinning and falling out, tremors in my hands and teeth chattering uncontrollably (which I later found out from Dr. Bauer that is a central tremor), enlarged thyroid, adrenal insufficiency, cold intolerance- I actually wore jeans and a fleece jacket throughout the summer of 2017 in 90 degree weather, noise intolerance, light intolerance and many more. I was diagnosed with Lyme in February 2014 by an Integrative Medical doctor in Winona, Minnesota who practices traditional western medicine and also uses alternative eastern treatments and some functional medicine. I went to her for 1 ½ years and felt a little better but still had a lot of symptoms. Lyme feeds on stress and I had a ton of that. In addition to household and medical bills there is the loss of the life we had, friends, support and hobbies. I also have a tremendous amount of grief. My vibrant healthy Dad was diagnosed with stage 4 stomach cancer in May 2015 and was gone by October 2015. My go-getter active Mom who I had trouble keeping up with most days died of heart failure in August 2016. My Mom’s only sibling, our closest aunt who was our 2nd Mom all of our lives was diagnosed with stage 4 pancreatic cancer in December 2016 and was gone before our eyes by February 2017. Our son Austin’s best friend was tragically killed at age 10 by an impaired driver in November 2018 during a highway cleanup with her Girl Scout troop 3055. I could no longer keep the job that I loved as a nurse and applied for disability. From 2013-2018 I was determined to find someone who could help me function with all of these awful symptoms. I saw 9 different medical doctors including a specialist in Rheumatology at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, 5 different physical therapists, 2 different chiropractors, 3 massage therapists and an acupuncturist. I was told by 2 of the medical doctors that I was “just depressed”, and that I should get shock treatments. I continued to get worse and the bills kept increasing. Most of the places I tried were not covered by insurance at all. I could barely drive short distances due to severe headaches and back pain, could hardly do anything around the house, couldn’t do any grocery shopping or even prepare simple things to eat and couldn’t do much with our little boy. My husband did almost everything around the house and for me and I’m forever grateful for him. In May of 2018 a friend of mine wanted me to come with her to a free thyroid talk. I had never heard of Optima Health or Dr. Bauer but I had a lot of thyroid symptoms so I agreed to go. After hearing Dr. Bauer talk about thyroid problems and what the clinic could do for it I scheduled an appointment. He retested me for Lyme and I was still positive despite the 1st treatment from the Integrative medical doctor and also being treated by a different chiropractor. It’s been a hard battle but Dr. Bauer, Dr. Martens, Amy King and the entire staff here at Optima Health have played a vital role in getting my physical, mental and spiritual health going in the right direction. I owe them my life… literally. The care at this clinic is phenomenal and every person who works here is amazing. There are so many things they can do to promote and restore health and treat issues with the supplements and the attention that is given to each person’s case leaves you no choice but to feel better!

– SY


 

Chronic Pain

To Dr. Martens:

Thank you so much for everything!! I just want to thank you for how much time and effort you’ve put into making me feel better.Living with chronic pain and chronic health issues leaves me very hopeless and depressed some days.My pain level has been able to stabilize since I started seeing you and that’s very significant to me.

Thank you for being flexible the times I’ve been running late, or when you take extra time to help me.  You never make me feel rushed and you’re always so kind to my Dad and that means a lot too.

Thank you.


– Hollie


 

Knee

Pain had been present in my knee for six months and was to the point where it was difficult to walk.  The pain had gotten to the point where it affected my life in that I was unable to participate in any sports.  Then I saw the ad in the Leader-Telegram advertising treatment of knee pain at Optima Health & Vitality Center.  I felt improvement after two months of care at Optima and am doing well now.  Before you do surgery, try Optima Health & Vitality Center.  I travel 25 miles for care.


– RW


 

Knee

I had sharp pains in my knee as a result of an accident and knee surgery.  I had the knee surgery about three years ago.  The knee pain increased over the last few years as a result of a lack of proper exercise.  The knee pain prevented me from doing everyday tasks that I enjoyed.  One night I went for a walk with my wife and made it about a block before I had to turn back because of the pain.  I told my wife I need to do something.  The next day I saw the ad for Optima Health & Vitality and called.  Within a couple of weeks I started feeling improvement.  My knee is now feeling great and better than I had hoped for.  I am following a regular exercise program to improve knee strength.  Optima Health & Vitality Center is just a great staff of people.


– TW

 


 

Knee

I used to have long term knee pain from an old high school injury with decreased mobility in my knee and hip.  The knee pain has been present for thirty plus years; the hip pain present for the past five years.  I couldn’t take care of our hobby farm and horses without considerable difficulty.  The ad run by Optima Health & Vitality Center mirrored my symptoms and issues.  I wanted to avoid taking medication and/or surgery.  I felt improvement after my first treatment and then steady improvement over the course of the treatment plan.  In general, I am much improved and able to be fully active once again.  It is a very viable option to traditional approaches to receive care at Optima Health & Vitality Center.  I’m happy to not take pain medications or face surgery.  I travel 12 miles for my care.


– DM

 


 

Knee

I used to have long term knee pain from an old high school injury with decreased mobility in my knee and hip.  The knee pain has been present for thirty plus years; the hip pain present for the past five years.  I couldn’t take care of our hobby farm and horses without considerable difficulty.  The ad run by Optima Health & Vitality Center mirrored my symptoms and issues.  I wanted to avoid taking medication and/or surgery.  I felt improvement after my first treatment and then steady improvement over the course of the treatment plan.  In general, I am much improved and able to be fully active once again.  It is a very viable option to traditional approaches to receive care at Optima Health & Vitality Center.  I’m happy to not take pain medications or face surgery.  I travel 12 miles for my care.


– DM

 


Knee

I used to have long term knee pain from an old high school injury with decreased mobility in my knee and hip.  The knee pain has been present for thirty plus years; the hip pain present for the past five years.  I couldn’t take care of our hobby farm and horses without considerable difficulty.  The ad run by Optima Health & Vitality Center mirrored my symptoms and issues.  I wanted to avoid taking medication and/or surgery.  I felt improvement after my first treatment and then steady improvement over the course of the treatment plan.  In general, I am much improved and able to be fully active once again.  It is a very viable option to traditional approaches to receive care at Optima Health & Vitality Center.  I’m happy to not take pain medications or face surgery.  I travel 12 miles for my care.

– DM

 


 

Knee/Back

I used to have pain in my knees and a very sore lower back where it was difficult to straighten up when I first got out of bed in the morning, difficulty walking, performing simple tasks at work, climbing up and down stairs, difficulty doing lawn care, and I became tired very easily.  I’ve had the back problem for the last 20 years and the knee problem presented itself after I had an injury at work in 2012.  I received adjustments weekly at another chiropractic office, but the adjustments would never hold.  I chose Optima Health & Vitality Center because I saw their full page ad in the local newspaper and they were using a new treatment (cold laser) to heal knee problems, so I decided to give it a try.  It took quite a few traction treatments for my lower back to improve.  I had a pinched nerve in my back, which is why prior adjustments didn’t hold, but that has improved greatly.  I am doing almost 100% better with my back problems.  My knees no longer are painful when I go up and down stairs.  I had nerve damage from my work accident which I did not know and Dr. Bircher worked extensively on improving the nerve signals to my knees.  I only wished I would have come to Optima Health & Vitality Center sooner for help, but I didn’t know what treatments they had that would help me.  I travel 30 miles to be treated.

– MS

 


 

Knee/Back

I used to have pain in my knees and a very sore lower back where it was difficult to straighten up when I first got out of bed in the morning, difficulty walking, performing simple tasks at work, climbing up and down stairs, difficulty doing lawn care, and I became tired very easily.  I’ve had the back problem for the last 20 years and the knee problem presented itself after I had an injury at work in 2012.  I received adjustments weekly at another chiropractic office, but the adjustments would never hold.  I chose Optima Health & Vitality Center because I saw their full page ad in the local newspaper and they were using a new treatment (cold laser) to heal knee problems, so I decided to give it a try.  It took quite a few traction treatments for my lower back to improve.  I had a pinched nerve in my back, which is why prior adjustments didn’t hold, but that has improved greatly.  I am doing almost 100% better with my back problems.  My knees no longer are painful when I go up and down stairs.  I had nerve damage from my work accident which I did not know and Dr. Bircher worked extensively on improving the nerve signals to my knees.  I only wished I would have come to Optima Health & Vitality Center sooner for help, but I didn’t know what treatments they had that would help me.  I travel 30 miles to be treated.

– MS

 


 

Back

My original complaint was slipped disk.  I could hardly move and tried both ice and heat.  I couldn’t move hardly at all because of the pain.  I chose Optima Health & Vitality Center because I had been there before.  It took about four weeks to start feeling improvement and I am doing fine with my disks now but have carpal tunnel in both hands.  Dr. Martens is my doctor and he is healing me.

– JV

 



Low Back/Hip Pain

My original problem was hip (right) and low back. As I got to know Dr. Julie, I confided about other health issues that were not being addresses at Marshfield Clinic – namely my thyroid.

I am 55, I was diagnosed with thyroid disease when I was 30. At the time my Doctor figured I had suffered about 9 years with this disease.

My problems were affecting my life; good health in general was declining, mobility, depression, gut issues and walking.

We chose Optima Health & Vitality Center because my son (Jesse) referred me and my husband.  My husband ended up seeing Dr. Martens, and thought Dr. Julie would be a good fit for me.

It didn’t take long to start feeling improvement.  We had to break down each issue one at a time.  Then, I started to see Dr. Sue.

Now I am doing wonderfully, I try to keep an appointment with Dr. Julie at least once a month to keep all my issues in check.

What I would like to tell others about my experience at Optima Health & Vitality Center is that Optima is my primary care giver. I enjoy having people actually care about how I am feeling and who want to get to the root of the problem.

I usually set my appointments after work and only have to drive 5 minutes from work.

– Laurie S.

 


 

Carpal Tunnel

My original complaint was carpal tunnel as well as a jammed up neck due to soup kettles dropping off of a shelf and hitting me on the head.  It hurt from my neck down to the tip of my ring finger and was going on for about 6 months when I came to Optima Health & Vitality Center.  I chose Optima Health & Vitality Center because I did not want to have surgery if at all possible.  I wanted to do a natural way of fixing my body.  In about three months I was feeling 80% better.  Now I am doing an adjustment when I need to.  I have become a new person because of all the wonderful things I have had done at Optima Health & Vitality Center between the vitamins, adjustments and therapy.  I travel 40 – 45 minutes for my care.


– SH

 


 

Carpal Tunnel

I used to have carpal tunnel syndrome.  I went to the doctor and they determined with tests that I would have to have surgery on both hands.  I had symptoms for a couple years but it got worse about three months before coming to Optima Health & Vitality Center.  My hands kept going numb and hurting, which made it hard to work, sleep, or play the piano.  I chose Optima Health & Vitality Center because my wife goes there and sees Dr. Bircher.  It took about 2-3 visits before I started feeling improvement and I am now 95% better.  I don’t have to have surgery!  Optima Health & Vitality Center’s staff is fantastic.  They are always friendly, helpful and very professional.  I travel 35 miles for my care.


– Jonathan W


 

Trigger Point Injections

I used to have chronic pain in my back, neck and gluts.  For 30 plus years I dealt with this pain.

I was a Dental Hygienist for 40 years. This profession’s ergonomics and high stress levels are very challenging on body.  I have tried everything!  Massage, acupuncture, yoga, walking and exercise classes. I would get relief, but the pain would come back soon.

I couldn’t handle the constant pain, so ultimately I had to retire from my Dental Hygienist job.

I chose Optima Medical because I met Dr. Bircher many years ago having chiropractic treatments and I was totally impressed with the progressive “out of the box” options to help me.  I then moved out of state for 12 years.  Recently I moved back home so I returned to the practice.  After their new assessment, Dr. Bircher suggested that injection into the trigger knot may relax the muscle differently.

I immediately started to improve.  After a couple of weeks and much travel I started to feel a few points slightly again but am feeling better physically than I have in decades!

I so appreciate the great energy felt when you enter. The staff and practitioners are all so competent and caring as a team. Time in assessing the ideology of why I am feeling, instead of treating the symptoms with medication.

I travel 6 miles to get to Optima.


– PJH

 


 

Stomach/Digestive Issues 

Optima Health has literally saved my life.  I’m so thankful for their kindness, dedication, and concern for the well-being of every person who walks through their doors.  In the midst of my undetermined and confusing illnesses, the staff consistently treated me as a person instead of just a patient, and Dr. Bircher did a spectacular job of thinking outside the box to find solutions to my medical issues.  I highly recommend!

I used to have extreme indigestion, several food intolerances, and multiple episodes of migraines and nausea. 

I dealt with these issues for almost two years, and I underwent two major surgeries before visiting Optima.  I couldn’t work steady hours, sleep regularly, go more than 24 hours without strong pain medication, travel far from medical care. 

I chose Optima Health & Vitality Center because of their impressive reputation, and because they handle emergencies with skilled efficiency. 

Within three months, I was able to work a steady job again and live a slightly more normal life.  Now, I feel like a different, more vibrant person.  I’m no longer dependent on pain medication to live a productive and joyful life. 

Dr. Bircher went out of his way to show that he cared and to find solutions that no other doctors could find.


– NS

 


 

ADD/ADHD 

Logan was a happy little baby but as he began to become a toddler, his moods became more extreme. By the time he started Early Education through our local school district at age 3, he did not talk, he spoke in his own language that we had begun to call Loganese. He had very extreme behaviors that involved hitting, kicking, screaming and were not typical toddler temper tantrums. These were on a daily basis, multiple times a day. It would take 45 minutes of him screaming and kicking and hitting to get him ready to leave in the morning and most mornings by the time I had all three kids ready to go to school or grandma daycare, I would be in tears after dropping him off because I was so emotionally exhausted. Bedtime was another 45 minutes struggle to get him to settle down and most nights he cried himself to sleep. If we went somewhere as a family, we would have to take two vehicles because one of us would have to leave with Logan because of his behaviors. Our lives were scheduled around Logan’s moods and oftentimes one of us stayed home with Logan instead of trying to deal with him in a public or family setting. If I took all three kids to a doctor or dental appointment, I took another adult with me. Mealtimes were a struggle to get him to eat anything besides fruit. When Logan was 3 ½, we were getting ready for school one morning when Logan slapped me across the face while I was putting on his shoes. On the way to work I called his pediatrician and begged for him to be drugged and when I pediatrician asked for what, I said I don’t care, make something up, he’s making our home a living hell and I can’t take it anymore. We had an appointment schedule in about two weeks to talk about Logan’s behaviors again. The week of the appointment, the doctor’s office rescheduled us out another 6 weeks. Logan’s grandma suggested we take him to Dr. Marten since he had done such a wonderful job of helping our older child with her chronic constipation after 5 years of struggling with those issues.

Dr. Marten put Logan on a diet of no gluten, no wheat, and no dairy, limited sugar. Added oily supplements to his diet (DHA, D3 and B complex) and began several types of therapies on Logan’s weekly visits to him. Within a week, Logan began to become calmer. Bedtimes were less of a struggle as well as getting ready in the morning. Over the next couple of months, we watched a little boy’s personality emerge that we had seen very little off in the previous years. He began to laugh, giggle, and hug more, and started making eye contact and using his hand gestures to communicate his wants/needs. The school noted that Logan was participating in school and there was less screaming and instead of going for an hour and a half, he began going for an entire day. He began using sounds and imitating words.

Logan turned 5 at the end of January and he is a completely different boy than he was 2 years ago. He still visits Dr. Martens on an almost weekly basis and continues to take supplements and eat a gluten free diet. He also receives speech therapy 3-4 times a week as well as goes to school two full days a week. His speech is becoming more intelligible over time and people are beginning to understand him when he talks.

People who didn’t know Logan before Dr. Marten do not believe me when I talk about his extreme behaviors, his hitting, kicking, and screaming. They see this smiling little boy who has an infectious laugh and a smile that lights up his face. Today we see a little boy who has a playful personality and has a million stories that he loves to tell that has everyone laughing because his words and hands start flying. We have a little boy who loves to gives hugs and kisses and who teases his siblings with his playful demeanor. We still have bad days and Logan will forget to let us know that he has a headache and behaviors flare but they are nothing like they used to be. Dr. Marten has been instrumental in helping Logan these last couple of years and in finding our little boy who was locked inside a body who was hurting and we will forever be grateful for everything he has and continues to do to help Logan.

– Many Thanks from Logan’s mom, Lisa



Lyme Disease 

I used to have foggy thinking, fatigue – constant unrelenting fatigue, body aches, lack of interest in hobbies and things I normally would do.

The last 5 years have been a real struggle. I was seen by my primary doctor, an allergy specialist, a nutrition specialist and a chiropractor- each several times. The chiropractor was pretty sure Lyme Disease was a component. The allergy specialist identified high level of candida (yeast) infection. I had a colonoscopy done to see if there were any specific lesions in the intestines causing the problem. I was tried on multiple different kinds of drugs – everything from antibiotics, antidepressants, headache medicines, and many things in between with no improvement. The only medicine that helped at all was the yeast medicine. But as soon as a treatment time was completed with the yeast medicine, the yeast returned all over again.

The problem affected my whole life. I stopped doing pretty much everything. Things I tried to do were so difficult, and things I was passionate about became impossible to do at all. I just wanted to sleep and had trouble staying awake – even at work. I slept all the hours I possible could and it never helped.

I chose to come to Optima Health & Vitality and the Health Office Co. because of a hidden message my private MD gave me. He mentioned to me that he’d heard of the clinic, but he didn’t believe they could help. I was pretty upset at first by his response, but as I thought more about it, I wondered if it wasn’t a hidden message for me. So we called and made an appointment.

Within 2 weeks I was feeling better. The changes were subtle at first – my fatigue was better for short times after treatment; my digestion was also a little improved. As I look back over the 3 months I was unable to work, overall my general wellbeing slowly improved. My cravings settled. I had motivation to slowly increase what I was involved in again. I especially noticed improvement when zinc and copper were added to my nutritional supports – seems like I had leaps and bounds of improvement when those were added to the ozone therapy and chiropractic care.

I worked yesterday for the first time and had pretty good energy after the long day. People at work commented on how much better I looked. I was able to do tasks around the home and took a 2 mile walk after dinner. I felt good afterwards too – not at all like in the past when I would have had to take a nap, let alone do those things to begin with.

It feels like this is the first time in 4-5 years that I’ve been able to see the light at the end of the tunnel!

I traveled 30 miles one way twice a week for my therapies.

– RE

 


 

Lyme Disease 

I came to Optima Health & Vitality Center because I had chronic Lyme, heavy metal toxicity, possible leaky gut and my adrenals were shot.

I was diagnosed with Chronic Lyme and heavy metal toxicity in 2005.  Optima diagnosed my adrenal burn out in February when I first came here this year (2016). Two years ago in February (2014) my right knee went out after just taking a walk for two weeks.  My knee swelled and was painful.  I had to get a cane to get around.  So, I went to a local chiropractor and he helped me enough to get rid of the cane, but after two years there, nothing was improving, I just was not getting any better.

I could not take walks, could not work out, or even do the work I needed to do.  Any strain of the knee caused it to swell a lot and it was painful.  This caused me great sadness as all my life I had been a very active, very physical and hard-working person.

I came to Optima because I really wanted so much to get better.  I really needed to get my life back to the way it was before the Lyme attacked my knee.

I began coming to Optima in February 2016.  I was really amazed and happy at how quickly I began to feel better.  My Lyme is being dealt with and finally there is great improvement. Through the body work and the supplements that give my body what it needs to heal itself, I am seeing great results.

After just a couple of months, my knee was not swelling as much, there was no pain.

Now I have been coming to Optima for five months and I am happy to say I have zero pain in that knee and it no longer swells.  I can mow lawn for six hours (with a push mower), I can walk for two hours, I can dance and workout and I haven’t had any swelling.  My knee even looks almost perfectly normal for the first time since 2005!

Through the work being done with my adrenals, I have great energy again and I am sleeping well at night for the first time in years!  I AM A HAPPY PERSON AGAIN!!! My only wish is that I had come here many years ago, I truly believe my knee would never have gotten as bad as it did if I could have come here sooner to deal with the chronic Lyme. Optima Health & Vitality Center is full of wonderful, caring and friendly people.  Everyone I know there is so easy to talk with, they make you feel cared about and they just make you feel glad to be there. The level of care and the friendliness of care are the best I’ve ever experienced in all of my life.  I can honestly say that it is a tremendous blessing to be able to be treated at Optima.

I travel one and one half hours to get there and it is well worth it.  I have my life back!  Thankfully!

– MS

 


 

Lyme Disease 

I used to have upper back pain and am currently being treated for Lyme disease.

I have had upper back pain for years, the Lyme disease was discovered later and might have been part of the problem.  Dr. Martens is persistent and caring in finding the problem and cause.  I had headaches, nerve pain, back soreness, tired all the time and many more symptoms.  I could not walk and exercise like I used to.  Being tired all the time kept and keeps me from doing a lot of activities.

I chose to come to Optima Health & Vitality and the Health Office Co. because I liked their mix of natural and traditional healthcare approach.  They truly care about helping the people that come through the door.  Dr. Martens’ expertise has greatly helped me and my family.

My back now feels great!  I am confident with all the experience that Dr. Martens has had with Lyme disease that getting rid of it will be successful. 

I travel 45 minutes to reach Optima Health & Vitality.  Everyone that works there is very caring and professional.

– CG